Mississippi Farm Bureau Federation
Agricultural News and Information

Greg Gibson, Coordinator
Public Relations / Multimedia
1-800-227-8244 ext. 4154
or 601-977-4154

Farm Bureau concludes 86th annual meeting

JACKSON - Over 660 Farm Bureau members, representing the state’s 82 county Farm Bureaus, took part in the two-day meeting where, in addition to the election of officers and directors, the delegates adopted policy to guide the organization’s efforts during 2008. Policies relating to national issues will be forwarded to the American Farm Bureau Federation for consideration at its annual meeting, which is scheduled for New Orleans, LA, in mid-January.

Newly elected or re-elected directors on the MFBF Board include Dr. Jim Perkins, Iuka; Paul Briscoe, Oxford; Mike Ferguson, Senatobia; L. C. Sanders, Hamilton; Betty Mills, Winona; Kenneth Thompson, Philadelphia; James Ford, Taylorsville; Jeff Mullins, Meadville; E. A. “Pud” Stringer, Foxworth; and Terry Estis, Lucedale. Dott Arthur of Carthage was re-elected for a two-year term as State Women’s Chair and Patrick Swindoll of Hernando will sit on the Board due to his election as Young Farmer & Rancher Committee chairman.

The delegate body identified several areas of interest as priority issues for the upcoming year including the protection of private property rights, the protection of animal production practices and methods, and protecting agricultural producers from nuisance lawsuits.
In other meeting activities, Ashley Helton of Tishomingo County, a student at Mississippi State University, was selected as Miss Farm Bureau - Mississippi in a competition with 6 other contestants from around the state. Helton will serve as a spokesperson for Farm Bureau during the next year.

Stephen and Kisha Bailey of Calhoun County were selected as Farm Bureau’s Young Farmer Achievement Award winner and will travel to New Orleans to represent Mississippi in the National Young Farmer Achievement Award competition. Stephen also won the YF&R State Discussion Meet but due to an American Farm Bureau rule prohibiting a contestant from entering more than one national competition, he will not be competing in the National Discussion Meet.
The annual MFBF Distinguished Service Award was presented to Dr. Alan Blaine, Head of the North Mississippi Research and Extension Center in Verona.

The Excellence in Leadership Award went to Louis Breaux, III of Kiln, in Hancock County for his many years of dedicated service to agriculture in Mississippi.

Meredith McCurdy of Batesville was given the Ag Ambassador Award for her work in promoting agriculture and Mississippi.


The Mississippi Farm Bureau Federation is the state's largest general farm organization with more than 230,000 member-families statewide.  There are Farm Bureaus in all 82 counties in Mississippi where agriculture comprises a fundamental part of Mississippi 's economy.  Headquartered in Jackson , the federation is an independent, non-profit agricultural organization and is not associated with any arm of the government.  For more information about Farm Bureau, visit our website at

© 2007 Mississippi Farm Bureau Federation