Mississippi Farm Bureau Federation
Agricultural News and Information

Greg Gibson, Coordinator
Public Relations / Multimedia
1-800-227-8244 ext. 4154
or 601-977-4154

Layton honored with Excellence in Leadership Award by Farm Bureau

Maurice Layton of Mendenhall, MS, was awarded Farm Bureau’s Excellence in Leadership Award at the organization’s annual meeting in Jackson on December 7.

Mr. Layton has lived all his life in Mississippi and runs a cattle, poultry, and timber farm just outside Mendenhall. He has dedicated his life to serving agriculture by being involved with many agricultural organizations including the local 4-H clubs, the Simpson County Livestock Association, the Simpson County Cattlemen’s Association, the Soil and Water Conservation Commission, and the Federal Land Bank.

He has served on the Simpson County Farm Bureau Board of Directors since 1960 and was president from 1997-2006. He also served on the Mississippi Farm Bureau Board of Directors from 2000-2005.

“Farm Bureau has been a godsend,” said Layton. “When there was a hole to be filled, they helped fill it.”

Farm Bureau President David Waide said of Layton, “He is one of the finest and most dedicated leaders that Farm Bureau has. He has spent his life working for agriculture and Farm Bureau.”

The Excellence in Leadership Award was established to recognize volunteer leaders of Farm Bureau who have made a significant contribution to Farm Bureau and agriculture in Mississippi. Their contributions have been performed as a result of unselfish effort to strengthen Farm Bureau and to enhance rural life in Mississippi.


The Mississippi Farm Bureau Federation is the state's largest general farm organization with more than 225,000 member-families statewide.  There are Farm Bureaus in all 82 counties in Mississippi where agriculture comprises a fundamental part of Mississippi 's economy.  Headquartered in Jackson , the federation is an independent, non-profit agricultural organization and is not associated with any arm of the government.  For more information about Farm Bureau, visit our website at

© 2007 Mississippi Farm Bureau Federation