Mississippi Farm Bureau Federation
Agricultural News and Information



JACKSON — Mississippi Farm Bureau delegates will gather in Jackson for their 89th annual convention, December 4-6, with an agenda to set policy for the state’s largest farm organization. Mississippi Farm Bureau President David Waide, a West Point row crop and cattle producer, has announced a membership total of 204,963 member families.

The adoption of the organization’s policy book, which lays out Farm Bureau’s direction for the coming year, is the most important business of the upcoming convention, Waide said.

“This has been a much better year for Mississippi farmers because the weather was much more cooperative than last year,” Waide said. “Our policies will reflect the membership’s feelings about many issues including ones that affect all consumers.”

The 2010 annual meeting begins at 9:00 a.m. on Saturday, December 4, with the statewide Farm Bureau Ambassador Contest.

The Opening General Session will begin at 1:00 p.m. Saturday afternoon and will feature the keynote address by agricultural TV and radio personality Trent Loos. That session will be followed an Environmental Conference dealing with alternative uses for farmland and then by a Safety Conference.

The Saturday Night General Session will be at 6:30 p.m. highlighted by the announcement of the winners of the Young Farmer and Rancher Achievement Award and the Discussion Meet.

Sunday afternoon will feature the Recognition and Awards program where individual county Farm Bureaus are recognized for their work during the past year. The Distinguished Service Award and the Excellence in Leadership Award will also be presented at this session along with the Friend of Agriculture Award.

The Business Session will take place on Monday, December 6, at 8 a.m. The annual report will be delivered by President David Waide to be followed by the adoption of the resolutions that form Farm Bureau’s Policy Book and the election of officers and directors. President Waide is not running for re-election this year making the presidential election one of special interest. Brad Bean of Amite County, Randy Knight of Rankin County, and Ken Middleton of Washington County are all candidates to become the ninth president of the organization.



The Mississippi Farm Bureau Federation is the state's largest general farm organization with more than 204,000 member-families statewide.  There are Farm Bureaus in all 82 counties in Mississippi where agriculture comprises a fundamental part of Mississippi 's economy.  Headquartered in Jackson , the federation is an independent, non-profit agricultural organization and is not associated with any arm of the government.  For more information about Farm Bureau, visit our website at

© 2007 Mississippi Farm Bureau Federation