Mississippi Farm Bureau Federation
Agricultural News and Information

Farm Bureau concludes 90th annual meeting

JACKSON – Nearly 750 Farm Bureau members, representing the state’s 82 county Farm Bureaus, took part in the three-day meeting where, in addition to the election of officers and directors, the delegates adopted policy to guide the organization’s efforts during 2012. Policies relating to national issues will be forwarded to the American Farm Bureau Federation for consideration at its annual meeting, which is scheduled for Honolulu, Hawaii, in mid-January.

Newly elected or re-elected directors on the MFBF Board include Carla Taylor, Prentiss County; Ronnie Jones, Marshall County; Randle Wright, Calhoun County; Mike Langley, Chickasaw County; Wanda Hill, Humphreys County; Fred Stokes, Kemper County; David Boyd, Rankin County; Jeff Mullins, Franklin County; Lyle Hubbard, Jefferson Davis County; and J. B. Brown, Stone County. Jason Hill of Chickasaw County will sit on the Board due to his election as Young Farmer & Rancher Committee chairman. Betty Mills of Winona was elected State Women’s Committee Chair and will represent the Women’s Committee on the State Board.

Brad and Carla Spencer of Vardaman were selected as Farm Bureau’s Young Farmer Achievement Award winner and will travel to Honolulu to represent Mississippi in the National Young Farmer Achievement Award competition. Clint Russell of Sunflower County won the Young Farmer Discussion Meet, an event that challenges contestants’ discussion skills and their ability to persuade others to see their side of an issue. He will also compete in the national competition in Honolulu in January.

Farm Bureau’s highest award, the MFBF Distinguished Service Award, was presented to long time Extension Service employee Steve Cummings of Coffeeville. Cummings grew up on a cattle farm and from a very early age knew that he wanted a career in agriculture.

He worked closely with the county Farm Bureau to surface contestants for the Young Farmer contests.

The Excellence in Leadership Award went to Warren Oakley of Starkville for his many years of dedicated service to agriculture and Farm Bureau in Mississippi.

Barbie Bassett of Madison was given the Ag Ambassador Award for her work in promoting agriculture and Mississippi. Bassett is the Chief Meteorologist for WLBT in Jackson and has worked with Farm Bureau’s Ag Image Campaign promoting agriculture.

There were three recipients of the Friend of Agriculture Award. Lt. Governor Phil Bryant of Rankin County, Representative Frank Hamilton of Jackson County, and Representative Tom Mayhall of DeSoto County received the award for their support of agriculture and Farm Bureau in the Mississippi Legislature.

In other meeting activities, Alan Smith of Picayne was chosen as Farm Bureau Ambassador. This contest is to identify young leaders who can use their advantages to tell the farm story. It is also designed to enlighten and inform the public that interest in agriculture, as a career, is alive and productive.


The Mississippi Farm Bureau Federation is the state's largest general farm organization with more than 197,000 member-families statewide.  There are Farm Bureaus in all 82 counties in Mississippi where agriculture comprises a fundamental part of Mississippi 's economy.  Headquartered in Jackson , the federation is an independent, non-profit agricultural organization and is not associated with any arm of the government.  For more information about Farm Bureau, visit our website at

© 2007 Mississippi Farm Bureau Federation